Sarah Last

SARAH is the founding member of The Wired Lab. She is an artist and curator with specialisation in the  interdisciplinary arts of sound, experimental art forms and Community Cultural Development (CCD). Sarah has been producing site specific cross-disciplinary projects in rural/regional NSW for the past eleven years and has been an active contributor to the national recognition of rigorous contemporary and experimental art practice(s) emanating from the regional context
Sarah has 20 years experience in arts administration where she held senior roles in a number of arts organisations such as Australian Network for Art and Technology (ANAT), Wagga Wagga Art Gallery and Booranga Writers Centre.
Sarah was a core member / Curator of Wagga Space Program 2001-2006 where she developed the legendary ‘unsound’ festivals experimental arts/sound programs (2003, 2004, 2006). Under Sarah’s curatorship The Wired Lab received an inaugural ‘ArtLab’ grant from Australia Council (2007), which led to the establishment of the organisation as a NFP in 2009. Since then, under Sarah’s leadership, the organisation has gone on to receive support from Arts NSW, Australia Council, RANSW, the British Council and Country Arts SA. The Wired Lab has received international recognition and is regarded as an important fixture in Australia’s arts ecology, particularly for the organisations’ unique exploration of the regional/rural context via its programming mix of experimental and emerging art forms, CCD and sector development for Australian artists.
Sarah’s ‘Southern Encounter’ project, which was commissioned for the 2012 Regional Arts Australia conference, won two APRA/AMC Art Music Awards for Excellence for ‘Experimental Music’ and ‘Regional Area’ amongst a competitive national field. No other artist or organization has achieved this at the APRA/AMC awards.
Last recently completed a term as the nominated Cootamundra Shire Council representative for the Board of Eastern Riverina Arts (2011- 2014). Previously she has sat on assessment panels for Australia Council, was Board member for Eastern Riverina Arts Program (04-06), Vice-Chair of the Wagga City Council Cultural Advisory Committee (04-06) and member of the Cootamundra Aboriginal Girls Training Home Centenary Commemoration Committee (2012).

Return to speakers listing